2017 Resolutions

I went to the gym as usual on January 2. Same time, same plan.  Only I was greeted with an extra 100 or so people working out alongside me.  Every single machine was taken, the classes were packed and frankly, it was an awful experience.  People walking around with their ear buds in, oblivious to where they were going and who they were bumping into.

New Year’s Resolutions.  We all make them.  I’m always thankful for February when the gym goes back to normal.  While that’s not the best thing to wish on people – that they will forsake their resolution for health, I do think that often times we bite off waaay more than we can chew around December 31.  We make outrageous plans for our next year, only to find ourselves around mid February (or January 5) already disappointing ourselves.

For the past few years, I’ve chosen a word for the year.  Last year it was “breathe.”  I started back with yoga and worked my hardest to sit in the moment.  There were some successful moments but frankly, I need to take this word into 2017.

On January 1, I was cleaning the kitchen – went to put the garbage in the bag and this happened.  Yep, veggie peels all over the kitchen.  It was a mess and Matt was there to document it all.  Awesome.

20161230_145930393_ios

I post this picture to remind myself that while I have resolutions for 2017 – a few this year, I also need to keep perspective. Adding too many “to do’s” to the list only causes a mess. It’s so easy to want to start again, to “do over” and do well.  However, there is something for carrying on.  One foot in front of the other, one breath at a time.

20170101_014126916_ios

On December 31, we as a family of five sat down and crafted for a bit.  We also worked on plates  that represented our past year. While I’m most certainly NOT an artist, I do love the tangible reminder of what last year taught me.

img_5083

The Spirit of God has made me and the breath of the Almighty gives me life. Job 33:4

This year I’m adding Isaiah 49:16, 23 to Job.  “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands….Those who hope in me will not be disappointed.”

Breathe each moment.  Rest in each second.  Know that my worth is not in what I do but in who I belong to.

Leave a Reply

