Almost Perfect Summer

It was an almost perfect summer.  I went into this summer of 2016 with much lower expectations than in the past.  I set a few goals and resolved to keep the main thing the main thing.

What was the main thing?  Making sure our family focused on each other and loved well!

IMG_252720160809_005525004_iOSThis summer was filled with so many wonderful adventures.  Caroline got to discover why I love Honey Rock Camp so much!  Tobin explored new territory at Eagle Lake Camp.  Desta got her first glimpse into Eagle Lake and loved it.

IMG_3198We joined a local pool and I no longer have to watch any child on the pool ledge. I have three proficient swimmers!  We hiked miles and miles.  We summited a 14er and rode a horse.

IMG_0444IMG_1502Family vacations, Matt and I vacations, date nights, slow nights, s’mores and sunsets.

IMG_2202Throughout the summer I had to guard against the little voice in my head that often whispers “this won’t last.”  I had to shove away the fears that a momentous catastrophe would happen to my kids while they were away.  I had to pray against the troubled thought that a car accident or a great disaster would strike.

See, I still live in this world, at times, that says I can’t be happy. I have to suffer or at least be a bit uncomfortable.  Perhaps many more hours of therapy will help me figure out just where this thought began.

There were still fights and flare-up’s amongst our family.  Harsh words and slammed doors. Hurt feelings and grumpy days interspersed with “leave me alone” and “I hate you’s”  We are human and we have faults.

Today, as I sit in this super quiet house – children in high school, middle school and elementary school – I want to acknowledge the good of this summer.  The hard work of being a present family.  The endless and often thankless task of making sure I love well so others can love well.

Here’s to a great summer and a new school year!

Leave a Reply

