Copy Cat Till Kale Salad

When I was at Till restaurant  a few weeks ago (for those who haven’t yet tasted this goodness, get yourself there…but make sure it’s payday first as the prices are a bit steep!), I had the most amazing kale salad (and the homemade ginger beer was also great!).

IMG_2685

I know, I know — many people have this love/hate relationship with kale.  I get it.  It can be grainy and grassy and just plain boring.  BUT when dressed correctly, kale can quickly become one of your favorite comfort foods. Yep, I said it, COMFORT FOOD!

kale

In my opinion, the secret to the Till kale salad is two parts – these amazing parmesan crouton type nuggets with a spicy lemon vinaigrette.  I attempted to get a more thorough explanation of the dressing from our waitress – you know, the “secret ingredient.”  She said she’d ask the chef but I never heard back.

parmesan

That’s okay, I have my own test kitchen and tasters here at home! So after a bit of experimenting, I found the holy grail of Kale.

Here’s my take on Till’s Lemon Kale Salad.

Ingredients:

1 head organic kale, washed, cut off the vein and chopped into super small pieces

2 lemons

2 garlic cloves

1 tsp dijon mustard (give or take a tsp)

olive oil

salt/pepper

red pepper flakes

Parmesan cheese, shredded or grated (about 1 cup)

Heat oven to 350. On a silpat pad (or parchment paper), place small mounds of parmesan cheese.  You should have about 6-8 small rounds of cheese.  Place in oven and bake until browned and crunchy (took me about 15 minutes) See picture above if confused!

While that’s baking, mix together juice of two lemons, zest of one lemon, garlic (crushed), mustard, about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/2 cup olive oil.  Add salt and pepper to taste (I usually do about 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper).

Pour dressing over chopped kale.  Mix really well (I use my hands to really get the dressing into the bits of kale).  Refrigerate.

To serve, put kale in a bowl.  Take parmesan rounds, break into small pieces and put on salad.

Sit back and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

